At one high school, more of the students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many of students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignment. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective? And why?

-Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm their children have not cheated

-increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

-Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

No one can deny that students can learn valuable points by doing their homework and assignments. There are many students who do not do their assignment on their own and cheat on homework (HW). In this situation, a controversial question is that what action would be more effective to prevent students to do in this way. Some people may be inclined toward the opinion that asking parents to monitor their children as they do their HW and confirm their children have not cheated is a good approach. Some other may be in favor of the idea that creating HW assignments more difficult for the student to cheat is an influential way. I, nonetheless, believe that increasing the penalty for cheating is the best way to decrease the number of students who cheat on HW. In the following statement, some conspicuous reasons will cogently substantiate my perspective.

The first reason is that based on psychology approach, punishment is a good inhibitor for students and could oblige them doing their homework on their own and without cheating. A research carried out recently in the Oxford University has revealed that denoting specific penalty by teachers in the educational process would often result in 85 percent reduction in the number of students who cheat on HW. For instance, my classmate who has been caught on cheating her math HW had to solve 20 extra problems rather other students. This was a bad terrible experience for her that prevented her from repeating this behavior in the next times.

Second, I do not think that being monitored by parents when children are doing their HW would be a good approach to prevent students from cheating on their HW because today parents are busy enough that they do not have sufficient time to do this task carefully. Also, the emotional bond between parents and their children may inhibit parents from doing this work honestly since they do not want to make hard circumstances for their children and maybe sometimes they ignore the importance of doing HW by their children without cheating.

Another noteworthy point I would like to mention is that creating HW more difficult by teachers would conduct students to ask other students to provide them with answers because they will not be able to do them individually and they will be disappointed in finding solution on their own, so they would rather imitate their classmates' solutions and make no more effort to solve them.

In conclusion, it is for all the aforementioned reasons, I have come to believe that it seems increasing penalty is the best way to decrease the number of students who cheat on HW. As a matter of fact, there are some other examples to support my point of view, but let's suffice to this.