At one high school, more of the students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many of students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignment. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective? And why?

-Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm their children have not cheated

-increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

-Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

It is widely accepted that cheating is a bad behavior that can affect students efficiency. Some people may hold the view that asking parents to monitor their children on their homework could be an obstacle to this behavior. Some other, nonetheless, take an opposite point and believe that asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat. This is a controversial question which is raised this area" How they can prevent them from cheating on their homework?” Personally, I am a favor of increasing the punishment for cheating. In the next two paragraphs, I will aptly delve into my reasons and I will cogently substantiate this perspective.

The first aspect to point out is that increasing the penalty for cheating can easily prevent students from doing such this things owing to the fact that no one wants to be punished so most of the time people do a lot of things to get rid of punishments. The noteworthy statistics revealed by research conducted in Tehran university show that 90% percent of people do not want to punish for less important thing such as assignments so they have to do their bests. In my own experience, when I went to high school I always do my best in classes because I hate to punish my delinquency on doing homework. As an inviolable fact, the more punishment, the less cheating.

Another equally noteworthy point in corroborating my stance is that asking parents to monitor their children when they do their homework can be a solution but monitoring on their homework can create a vicious circle so when students recognize that their parents monitor them they did not cheat. Although, when parents see that their children do not cheat on their assignments they did not spend all the time to monitor them. Also, if teachers make assignments more difficult students probably cheat more on them. In fact, if one weighs the merits and demerits of the above statements, one soon realizes that teachers should use more effective methods to prevent them.

To recapitulate the above reasons why teachers should increase the punishment for cheating, from the sight of psychology not only students do not want to punish for less important things such as assignments, but also monitor students with their parents or make the assignments more difficult could not prevent them from cheating on each other; actually, There are other reasons and examples elaborating on this idea which are not mentioned above owing to the dearth of time. I highly recommend that teachers can use other methods, For example, give them more homework and oblige them to do their homework on limited time.