Do you agree or disagree with the following statement that it is more important to read or watch news presented by different people in different views than by similar views?

Undoubtedly, our lives constantly evolving around the information that we apprehend from our surrounding. News has a major effect to shape individuals mindsets and beliefs. In this regard, some people adhere to this notion that we should only expose ourselves to news that are similar to our interests. However, others hold the opposite view asserting that it is important to subscribe to news that are different from ours. Personally, I am in accord with the latter and the following are the reasons substantiating my view.

To begin with, following news from a variety of sources, most of which are not in line with our mindsets, helps us to gain a thorough knowledge on those that mattes to us. Our mindsets, shaped by the type of information we have continuously been subjected, develops a subjective filter which our minds analyzes affairs only through this lens. Hearing facts that are not compatible with our predefined stereotypes enables us to see news differently. To elaborate on this, take my personal experience as an example. A while ago, as a result of frivolous facts that the media has instilled into my mind, I thought that American people are evils and they are the number one enemy of the state, that was the propaganda which the national television broadcasted constantly and I started to believe and find it convenient to support this ideology. So, I hated to hear any fact that was different to the ones that I believed. After I grew up and had access to the internet, I met people that believed in friendship between nations and pondering on their feeds on social media, enlightened me. In fact, that was the first time I found out that some of the facts about American people had been notoriously fabricated by the government and the truth was tainted.

Moreover, if we practice ourselves to tolerate news and facts differing from our own beliefs, it enables us to cultivate a peaceful and tolerant personality which would be helpful if we decide to live in a multicultural society. Today, societies has been more intertwined than ever and being able to live in peace with people of different social and cultural background, which some of them have radically opposing views from yours in topics like politics and religion, is a gifted ability. As a result, a simple and free of charge practice is to open your ears and mind to contrasting views in your surrounding and evolve a personality that believes every human being has the right to express and stand for their opinions.

To sum up, given all the facts and examples in the above, I believe that it is imperative to subscribe and follow news from different views. This is because not only it broadens our insight and helps us to look into affairs from different angles, but also it makes us to develop into a more peaceful character.