Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

That having friends is an indispensable part of humans' lives, is an axiom, mainly because they are social and gregarious creatures who need and desire to live in close relationship with others. The question that whether it is of the higher priority to make new friends, or just try to maintain some long-term relationship with a few close friends is a controversial long-debated issue. Although it is hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I am to a great extent on the belief that having a few but stable and close friendships is more important, due to two considerable reasons, which are elaborated hereunder.

The first reason is that it is not easy to find many people whose personality be similar to yours. This sets a concomitant limit in the number of people appropriate for friendship. You may spend some time with people who are not your type, and still have some fun some people, but you wouldn’t be able to share any of your private feelings and ideas with them. Additionally, many of these friends are actually "friendly strangers" who you cannot trust to confide. When I was a junior in college, I was inclined to make friendships with many new people, but then I found out that many of these people thought in completely different way. Their ambitions and objectives were so different that in fact, we had nothing in common. They even made me embarrassed about my objectives. It seems that it is better to try to find some few people that really match you.

Alongside the reason explained above, close friends would try to help each other in every circumstance. The more time you be in a friendship with somebody, the more intimacy shapes between you, and the more you are willing to sacrifice for each other. Hence, close friends tend to be more supportive and this results in relieving stresses. To elucidate more, I once had a serious problem with my thesis preparation, and a close friend of mine put his worthy time to help solve the problem, which saved me a lot of time.

To sum, according to the reasons justified above, although there are always some exceptions which are excluded from the general rule, I do believe that having a few long-term friendships is more preferable. Not only will these few close friends be more similar to you, but also they would help in the time of need. We should not take the blessings of a strong close friendship for granted.