Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Job is a dispensible part of human life, which provides social respectability and of course money for people. Choosing the job is a crucial decision that can affect the personality, the whole life span, and future of a person. Whether it is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' or to choose jobs that are very different from their parent's job has long been a controversial question. I believe it is not easy to reach a consensus on this topic and some points have to be considered in each case, some of which are elaborated here.

Some parents have appropriate jobs that they have been very successful in them. Take, for instance, a successful businessman or a well-known doctor, people who have achieved great respect and have acceptable income. There are many advantages in pursuing these kinds of jobs for the children. The parents have plenty of knowledge and experience about their occupation that they can share with their children. In fact, they have already provided a foundation that can help the children from the beginning. On the other hand, usually, these parents have many relations in the job that can help their children.

Alongside the case discussed above, there are many parents who are not satisfied with their jobs. For example, consider a worker who has to do mundane and drudgery tasks in a factory. He does not have high social rank and makes a meager income that is not sufficient for his needs. Although such parents have many experiences that they can teach their children, the children can try to choose better jobs for themselves. Actually, it is in these poor families that many children are motivated to strive hard for great ambitions. There is still great opportunity for these children to succeed. If the children are restricted to choose jobs similar to their parents', they would never be able to improve their rank in society.

According to what we discussed, it is obvious that choosing jobs similar to the parents' is not necessarily a good factor. Some important issues should be considered in pursuing parents' occupation. It is recommended that parents try to make the children aware of different pros and cons of the job they are familiar with and let the children choose for their future.