Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is a very important factor that can shape people's personality from early ages, and also has a profound effect on their success in future. Although teachers play a key role in the education systems, according to the statistics many believe that their value in the society has been deminishing in the recent century. I agree with this notion, because of two considerable reasons that are elaborated herunder.

In the past, most of the population of the countries lived in rural areas, and because of the dearth of appropriate facilities, they were mostly illiterate. Teachers were those who were highly educated comparing to the others, and knew a lot about a variety of subjects, a feature which made them to be respected so much. There were many cases that the adults came and confered with the teachers, while facing quandaries in their lives. As literacy and education became more and more prevalent, the teachers superioriy began to fade away.

Alongside the reason discussed above, there has been another determining factor afflicting teachers prestige. With the developement of the countries, the society became more complicated, providing a great opportunity for new lucrative occupations. Seeing the numerous enterpreneurs who had made a fortune by producing a simple product, people began to realize that education is not the only way to success. While teachers job were not in a direct relation with production and trade, they had a miserly constant income. This circumstances has escalated in the recent century, and so people does not value and appretiate the teachers like before. In my country for example, doctors make a lot of money, and they are so respected for that.

In sum, although teachers are great people who can teach of important lessons, the dismal reality is that they are not as important as before. Not only are there more educated people comparing to the past, but also there are more profitable and respectful jobs available, which make the teaching mundane and ordinary. People should appreciate the teachers more, because those are who detemine how their children would think and behave in future.