Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents are usually concerned about their children's grade, because they believe it is important to be successful in school, so that become successful in future. They may try to encourage them in different ways. Some of parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade they get in school. However, in my opinion this isn't a very good idea for two main reasons.

The first reason is that the children should know that they are being education for their own good, and not just for satisfying their parents. It is so important that the parents make their children aware of the advantages of education and convince them that they should try as much as they can to be successful in school. For example, I remember a time when an extremely rich father found that I'm an educated person. He came to me and said I have provided my son with everything I thought he may need, but he doesn't study. How should I encourage my young son to study harder? He asked desperately. I was shocked! I told him "Why do you like him to study harder? You are haven't studied and you are still much richer than many who have had." Then I suggested him to talk with his son and actually explain him the reasons why he wants him to study. This experience taught me that encouraging children with offering money isn't very effective.

The second reason is that offering them money to study, would make their character to become selfish and they wouldn't do anything that doesn't have any short time profit for them. There are always many thing in the world that does not bring you any financial profit, but are still important. For instance, love for family and taking care of old parents is something that may not bring you any financial advantages, but they are principles of morality. When you offer children money for everything you want from them, you indeed make them conditional. They would obey you on certain conditions that be beneficial for them. In sum, although many parents, especially the richer ones may think that it can be effective to encourage their children to study by offering them money, I believe that this can have a lot of long-term disadvantages for the children, the parents, and even the society.

Not only will the children think of education to be just for satisfying their parents, but also it can make them selfish and always seeking financial benefits. Parents should think of alternative methods to encourage their children to study.