Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the recent centuries most of the people in the world are living in the cities. While the cities have become so crowded, and the life in them has become more complex, modern technologies has dramatically affected the urban life. Today internet and public transportation systems such as swift trains play very important rules in people lives. The governments spend a lot on providing, maintaining, and improving these two infrastructures. The question that is actually hard to reach consensus is which one should be taken more important by governments. I agree with many people who believe that improving internet access is more important, because of some considerable reasons, two of which are elaborated here.

Since the advent of computers, the relating technologies such as internet have developed concomitantly, opening new opportunities for many businesses to flourish. Today, in the modern countries many businesses are shaped based on the internet. The business owners can exhibit their products in their websites or Instagram pages so easily and with a little cost. There is no need for them to spend a lot of money on advertisement in TV or billboards. They can also get connected to their customers who access internet through different ways such as emails or telegram. On the other hands, for many businesses it is now unnecessary to rent places to run their business. They can wholly rely on internet. For instance, a clothes shop can simply exhibit its clothes on Instagram, then take offers from the costumers, and send the chosen products to them, the process which is much easier and cheaper.

Alongside what we discussed above, and considering the public transportation which is the other choice in the debate, it seems that internet access can have some benefits of public transportation too. As it is obvious, the main purpose of developing public transportation is to reduce the city traffic and the concomitant air pollution. Well, this can all be achieved by the internet! If governments improve internet access, many people can choose their paths more efficiently using the GPS. Smartphones can use the internet to find the shorter paths and help their owners to spend less time in the traffic, producing less carbon dioxide. On the other hand, many bureaucratic tasks can be simplified by internet. Offices such as banks can provide people with internet services, which can eliminate the need for going to the offices. For instance, people would be able to pay for their bills at home using internet, instead of going to the banks and adding to the city traffic.

According to what we discussed; although some may disagree, it seems that it is more beneficial for the governments to focus on improving internet access. Not only will it help many new businesses to thrive, but also it can do the public transportation's job, reducing the traffic and pollution in the city. Governments should not take the advantages of internet access for granted, and try to improve it by all means.