Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The existence of the rules is a dispensable part of human society. They are in fact, prerequisites of discipline, which can make the people of society feel safe and comfortable, causing the society to thrive. Many believe that the rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. I completely disagree with this notion, for many reasons, some of which are elaborated here.

The first reason is that in most parts of the worlds religious and traditional beliefs are fading away. Religions have many strict rules that limit people considerably. In the past, religion played an important rule in societies, and the church was the omnipotent ruler. Pop and the priests imposed strict rules and enforced them strictly. It had also affected the tradition. All people were expected to behave in certain ways. If somebody tried to break a widely accepted traditional rule, the community would act severely. The people even may have expelled the person from the city. After the renaissance, European societies changed dramatically. The societies became more open and rules became softer. This trend has continued in many countries until now. For instance, the relationships between unmarried boys and girls was once a taboo. Now, even in my country, Iran, which is a traditional country, people are getting adapted to the changes, accepting such behaviors. So, overall societies have become less strict than before.

Alongside what we discussed above, technological advancements are happening rapidly in recent years. It has increased the rate at which cultural diversity is taking place in different areas of the globe. Each year there are thousands of new movies being produced in different countries, movies which in fact, advertise new cultures. On the other hand, the internet has provided people with a lot of knowledge, and social media has connected many people together, reducing the distances. All of these have made people's ideas to develop, and to be even more similar, enabling the society to understand the young better. Today many behaviors that were once a taboo, are beginning to be accepted by the society. For instance, now people do not reprimand transsexuals.

According to what we discussed, although many may disagree, modern societies are imposing fewer restrictions, especially on young people. Not only the religious restrictions are gone, but also people have become more aware and open-minded.