Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Computer games have become an important part of modern children's lives. Many children spend a lot of time playing them and it is crucial to know whether they are useful or not and whether they should be forbidden or not. In my opinion, although the time spent on them should be limited to some extent, they can be very useful as well.

The main reason is that computer games let you have many diverse adventures and learn new things through these experiences. Computer games provide children with a virtual environment, through which they can experience almost everything impossible in the real world. For example, when a child drives a car in a computer game, although being underage for having a driving license in real life, he may virtually experience driving in the busy streets. This way he would be able to gain many new driving skills without even really driving a car and expose himself to dangers. Another example of this case is strategic games which allow children to rule a city or country and found a virtual empire. Children have to balance many things such as population, food, expenses, and trade to win these games. It's a process in which they may obtain a lot of strategic knowledge and learn about balancing in real life. As you can see, computer games can be useful in teaching many new skills to children.

Another reason is that computer games can improve mental agility. As you have to make many abrupt logical decisions in these games promptly, your brain would begin to process the information faster. For instance, in action games which mostly include fighting, children have to think quickly about where to go, how to hide, and when to shoot in less than a second, otherwise their character would get killed. As this illustrates, computer games can improve the mind's agility and help the children's brain to process faster in their real lives.

In sum, although many parents may be concerned about their children's playing computer games, these games may have many advantages. Not only will the children gain new knowledge and skills in these games, but also their mind would become more ready to make quick and logical decisions. Playing computer games is a chance of living in diverse difficult virtual situations that should be given to every child. But parents should remain vigilant so that the children don't spend more than usual time on these games.