Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every day there is a lot happening around the world. The question that whether we should know about these events or not is a controversial one. However, I believe that we have to know about the events happening around the world, even if they will not affect our daily life, and there are numerous reasons for this notion, two of which I'm going to elaborate here.

In the current century, the technological advancements have shortened the distances of people in the world, which now many call "global village", and the world has become so interconnected that each event can easily make a deep impact on the rest of the world. On the other hand, industrialization has made mankind dangerously potent and he can induce mortal effects on the planet. Hence, either we like it or not, everything happening in the world today can have subtle long-term consequences for us all. Take the emission of polluting gases and the concomitant global warming, or nuclear weapon developments danger for instance. Although they may seem to not have any effect on our daily life, they can seriously afflict the whole planet.

Furthermore, having enough knowledge is an indispensable prerequisite of making wise decisions. There have been many great incidents in the world in recent years, many of which may not affect our daily lives, but can teach us like a history class. There has been many great revolutions and wars in recent decades, some of which have had devastating consequences for the countries. If nations study these events, they may try to avert them happening. Lybia, for example, used to be a thriving African nation, although under the rule of a dictator. People of Lybia were so influenced by the western media that they craved for democracy and felt a desperate need to revolt. They did so hastily, and they were successful in ousting the dictator from power, but the concomitant havoc instigated a civil war that ruined the country and now the people live in an abysmal condition and mostly subsist on UN helps. This case can have serious lessons for other nations.

In sum, many people may prefer to only care for their daily lives, because it feels better or it is easier. According to the reasons justified above the truth is that we cannot be indifferent about the rest of the world. The world events have long term influence on our lives and we can learn a lot by studying these events. Let's try to have at least some little awareness of what is happening in the world.