Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Term-projects are dispensable parts of academic assignments. Professors use projects to force the students to learn the lesson and practice the main concepts. They are also the means of evaluating the students. Classmates and colleagues can communicate with each other to do the projects better. Many people believe that it is better that classmates communicate in person rather than by email, and I agree with this notion for many reasons, some of which are elaborated here.

First of all, in e-mails, you have to write. Most of the projects include long mathematical formulas and calculations, and it is not easy to write them in an email in order to ask questions. On the other hand, there are controversial issues in the projects that need long discussions. Students should be able to represent their point of view and argue about them, and this cannot happen in the emails. It will take a lot of time to type your idea, send it, and then wait for the response. In addition, as the written statements can be read differently, they may lead to misinterpretation. So, it is actually impractical.

Alongside what we discussed above; when people communicate in person teamwork can shape. In emails, students cannot act simultaneously in a group. But when they communicate in person, many of them can participate in a group discussion. First, this can help them to obtain great energy from each other. They feel that they are not alone in the situation. Their stresses diminish and they begin to think together and solve the problems in the projects. Second, it can activate emotional intelligence in people. As the ideas are traded instantaneously, people may try to think faster and more novel. This is partly because people tend to show that they are useful in the group and have great abilities. Third, the students who are in the group may feel more responsible and compelled to try harder to help their colleagues. So, a student who may be reluctant to answer in an email may act so actively to be helpful in direct contact with the other people.

According to the aforementioned reasons; although some may disagree, it seems to be much better to communicate in person in projects. Not only it is easier and faster than writing emails, but also it shapes teamwork in which people cooperate better. It is recommended that students have some study groups in these situations so that they can communicate and do the project together.