Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Communication is the heart of every teamwork. Thanks to nowadays technology, people can communicate with each other through different media; e.g. Telephone, Email, so on. Although some people prefer to take advantage of such technologies to coordinate a project, I prefer the conventional method, i.e. in person. I believe, meeting in person can result in saving time for all members of the group, in addition to improving the peer’s social skills.

Every day is our bank account, and time is our currency. Thus, it is important how we spend and dedicate time to our tasks. I think, setting a specific place and sharing time that is convenient for all group members is more economical than waiting for an email response. In this case, people take the responsibility of replying to others' concerns immediately and also prevent possible misconception. Moreover, email is considered as a formal way of communication which involves some standard rules of writing, redundant sentence or phrase at the beginning and end of email such as “Dear ...” or “Best regards.” Can you imagine how many unnecessary words should be included in each email and how much time does it take for spell checking?!

Furthermore, face-to-face collaboration enables us to boost our social skills. Participating in each group meeting requires interacting with others through discussion. In this case, you share your concerns and difficulties which may even open a new door for unexpected ideas. For instance, I remember the first term project that we had to conduct in a 3-person group when I was attending NYU as a graduate student. Since all the members of my group lived at the dormitory, we decided to have a meeting every night in a study room. I have to confess that this regular meeting continued even after finishing the term project! Besides the closeness that this project made happen to us, an amazing idea, that later published as a conference paper, born within our discussion to solve a much simpler problem.

To sum up, teamwork is inseparable from our daily life, however, it should be beneficial for all members. I believe, the most efficient way to communicate in this regard is face-to-face. In-person meeting brings about a time-saving approach in addition to cultivating the interpersonal skills.