Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support . of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Over the past few years, the issue that whether governments should spend more money in support of the arts than the support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams has kindled heated debate among people. Depending on different personal experience, we find that a number of people hold the idea that the government should support athletics. However, given the chance, I tend to support the statement that our governments should spend more money in support of the arts.

To begin with, arts is a strong force that makes a country together. As we know, the main duty of a government is to fight against the attack of other countries. And art is a powerful weapon that even better than a gun and arch. For instance, different forms of arts such as poems and songs are used as two kinds of tools that contain the spirit of unity in ancient China. A history event called Besieged in All Sides illustrated a war between two countries with one's army is all from another's hometown. Every night they sang their song in different places of the army, which made the foreign army beats themselves and run away. As you can see, soldiers were all recalled by their nostalgia spread by the songs and poems. An ancient Chinese composer once said that music is a strength, which means that music will unit people together and fight against their common enemy.

I'm not saying that athletics is not good. Indeed, if people are all willing to train themselves and do more exercise, the countries they lived in will be much stronger. However, we are talking about the comparison between arts and athletics. Athletics, which will be idle of people and leads us to be stronger physically, are easy to beat when facing a stronger weapon and also easy to surrender. While arts means the unity of our spirit, which leads us to be more powerful when facing an unbeatable strength. For example, the song composed by musicians in the war will contain some lyrics such as Never Give Up, while a famous lecture in the British contains a word saying Never Surrender.

All in all, governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics. Because the supporting of athletics is mainly focusing on physical strength and a healthy body, while supporting of arts are mainly focusing on the way we judge the world and the spirit of unity,which is the main reason that makes the country live long and prosper.