Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn. Use specific example and reasons to explain your opinion

Learning is a lifelong process. Basic learning experience comes from school education. The main purpose of the school’s education should be providing knowledge to students; but these days, students’ main concern became their grades rather than knowledge. In my opinion, grades do not encourage students to learn, but instead, it depresses them, and even sometimes force them to cheat in an exam.

First, the main disadvantage of grades is that it demotivates students in an exam which leads to depression after failure in the exam. Students try to get good grades because they know that only good grades can help them to get admission to top universities. Moreover, after graduating from top universities, chances of getting a good job are higher. When students get depressed because of their failure, they choose the wrong path in life, such as suicide. For example, I studied in Physical Therapy school form Rajiv Gandhi University, India. Students from social study department done project work on the death rate in youngsters and causes behind the deaths. During the research study showed that almost seventeen percent of youngsters committed suicides. Social sty department also concluded that most of the suicides happen because of the presser of competition of good grades. That was an eye-opening project. Thus, the university planned to conduct motivation seminars for all students of all department.

Second, students try their best to get excellent grades. When they fail they choose other paths which damage their future, such as cheating in an exam or taking drugs. India has a big black market to get good grades in the exam. Students and sometimes their parents pay huge money to get good scores. Further, cheating in exam and guilt of failure attracts them towards bed influences, such as drugs, alcohol, etc. For instance, my friend Manish study hard to get admission in B. J. Medical college for bachelor in medicines and surgery. Unfortunately, he did not get the required grades for admission. He tried indirectly through the black market to get admission in college. He failed in that try, and he lost his money as well during the scam process. He got so demotivated and started taking drugs. Fortunately, his parents found out early, still, he took one year to overcome his addiction. Also, he lost his time and opportunity to build a good carrier.

Let’s put in the nutshell, in daily life people do not need any grades to justify their knowledge. Students should be able to practically imply their knowledge that is the main purpose of education. I strongly believe that grades are demotivating students from learning, even it leads them to bad influences.