Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn. Use specific example and reasons to explain your opinion

Learning is a lifelong process. Basic learning experience comes from school education. The main purpose of education should be providing knowledge to students. These days, students’ main concern has become their grades rather than knowledge. In my opinion, grades do not encourage students to learn, but instead, it depresses them, and even sometimes force them to cheat in exams.

First, the main disadvantage of grades is that it demotivates students in an exam. Due to fear of low grades students get afraid of exams. Students work hard for good grades because they know, that is the only aide that can help them to get admission to top universities. Moreover, after graduating from top universities, chances of getting a good job are higher. When students get depressed because of their failure, they choose the wrong path in life, such as suicide. For example, I studied in Physical Therapy school from Rajiv Gandhi University, India. Students from social study department done a research study to understand the cause of the suicide rates in youngsters. The study results showed that out of all the study subjects, seventeen percent who attempted suicide were reasoned to failure during their education. That was an eye-opening result. Thus, the university conducted a motivational seminar on stress relieving techniques to overcome the exam fear, for all the university students.

Second, the guilt of failure attracts students towards bad influences, such as cheating, drugs, alcohol, etc. India has a very corrupted education system. There are people spread all over the country who ask for money from parents in return of a promise to give admission to whatever degree students want. For instance, my friend Manish was an average student in studies, however, his parents wanted him to be a doctor. Thus, he studied hard to get admission to medical school. Unfortunately, he did not get the required grades for admission. Then, he tried indirectly through the black market to get admission in college. But the person who promised him admission disappeared after taking his money. He and his parents were devastated after the incident and he started taking drugs. Fortunately, his parents found out early about his addiction, and they helped him to come out from his addiction. He almost took more than a year to overcome his addiction.

Let’s put in the nutshell, in daily life people do not need any grades to justify their knowledge. Students should be able to practically imply their knowledge that is the main purpose of education. I strongly believe that grades are demotivating to students from learning, and it leads them to bad influences.