Some people think that children should begin their formal education at an early age and should most of their time on school studies. Others believe that young children should spend most of their time playing. Compare these two views. Which view do you agree with? Why?

Childhood is one of the most important and memorable periods of our lives. We come into the world innocent and unaware and in just a few short years make great physical and mental progress. In my view, there are significant benefits of beginning formal education at an early age such as following: enthusiasm for learning, and social interaction.

First, Children who receive early education will become enthusiastic to learn various skills. They also feel confident and curious, which causes them to perform better in school. Children learn how to manage challenges and be flexible in times of difficulty. Intellectually, the period from birth to six years is the most significant for brain growth. A child who is surrounded by a rich multi-sensory environment develops infinitely more connection between brain cells, which are the basis of what we call “intelligence”. For instance, my niece started school at the age of three. She started showing a huge improvement in her learning approach. Previously she was not that much interested in learning to write, but now mostly she plays with her chalk and blackboard. Her handwriting improved a lot. If she did not attend early school, then her writing skill would get delayed.

Socially, being in a school environment teaches children both how to behave themselves and how to get along with other children and adults. These lessons in human behavior are as important as the formal subjects a child must study. For example, my friend, Ankita has a two years old daughter, Diya. Her daughter has stranger anxiety. Always, Ankita was not able to attend the social gatherings because of her daughter. Ankita started her daughter’s school and we saw a significant difference in Diya’s behavior. In starting, Diya struggled a lot in school, she was not able to get adjust with classmates and teachers. After some time, she learned ethics of behavior, also how to mingle with the sounding people.

In conclusion, early education offers children a lot of benefits at different levels. A child can always play after coming home; in the meantime, the school experience sets the child on a path to success and self-confidence in a competitive, demanding world.