Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Government always tries to seek the best for their country, they are usually in a situation where they have priorities to be achieved. Their decisions have a huge impact on almost every aspect of our lives. Government should spend more money on improving public transportation compare to spending on improving road and highways. I will elaborate my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, public transportation can reduce traffic problem which is faced by most of the countries. Traffic is a big issue and it is the main cause of the air pollution. Nowadays, governments prefer that people share their rides with others. For example, in the USA there are different lanes for people who are not traveling alone. Moreover, air pollution is hazardous to people’s health. More cars on road creates more exhaust poisonous gases. I am a physical therapist and I read many articles about athletes training. I was surprised when I read an article that people who are running on the streets get exposed to highly dangerous gases that comes from car exhaust, and unfortunately, could lead to serious respiratory diseases.

Secondly, most public transportation systems do not receive enough funding. Governments don’t invest heavily enough and thus the system tends to be very inconvenient and out dated. Few buses result in poor service and the buses are often old and uncomfortable. Not only do buses suffer from lack of investment, but all other forms of public transportation such as trains and subways do as well. Outdated transportation is also the reason that people prefer private vehicle. If the public transportation is good, then people with low income can easily travel to any places.

Let’s put in a nutshell, governments should pay particular attention to public transportation because not only it will help to reduce pollution, but also brings convenience for citizens.