Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use

specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Grades and marks have become the deciding criteria for judging a person's capabilities and laying the foundation by this statement, I disagree with the line that Grades encourage students to learn.

Firstly, grades and marks can be very discouraging. Being an above average student in class, I never ranked first in class and seeing my fellow classmates shine by scoring good grades was very saddening. A sense of lack of self worth is felt when the student is unable to reach to the standard set by the society. Eventually, this leads to the loss of interest in that particular subject, since he/she might give up after consecutively scoring low grades. Sometimes, instead of the society, the student itself sets his standards high, a competition with themselves. This practice is recommended and appreciated but can get self consuming and stressful because of wanting to over achieve.

Moreover, it is eliminates the fun and interest of gaining knowledge. Learning becomes somewhat of an obligation for passing and moving onto the next semester. This completely nullifies the motive of studying and the grades become an incentive for the students to mug up the text without really understanding the logic behind it.

Worsening the situation of creating incentives for studying and getting good grades is that, it is deemed as a requirement for getting admitted into reputed schools and colleges. The limit set for the grades is vital for the universities as it sets the tone for their college. Their identity can reach its apex if they admit remarkable students who fall into a certain Intelligence quotient group. Thus, the students end up slogging to get into one of such colleges, they ones with a lower IQ are unable to clear it and the ones with a good one are allowed. I am of the conviction that, if colleges teach students who already excel at what they do, then there is no scope left for the ones who want to learn something at which they are weak. Influx of smart people, will only make the others feel inferior with a lack of exposure to useful resources.

Hence, the judgement should be on the basis of logical reasoning and questions pertaining to the specific course that they are enrolling for, reducing some of the tension.

To conclude, I do not disagree with the educational system of testing the students occasionally, but instead of grading them, it could be made a little more interesting by altering the exams into quizzes and assignments. This could result in a more productive learning atmosphere, with coherence between the classmates. The sense of inferiority will be negated and can motivate them to excel at what they are good at.

Focus and diligence, augmented with hard work is achievable with students who are receptive to the knowledge imparted in schools, without the fear of being judged and categorised merely on numbers and grades.