Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Having children is less important than it was in the past Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples

I think having children is just as important as it was in the past, even more so now because "children are the future". This phrase holds true at all hierarchies from individual families, to communities to countries, and therefore I disagree with the statement. The reasons for my stance are as follows:

As the world opts for a healthier and wealthier lifestyle, children are getting more and more important every day. The average age and economy of a country can be determined by the youth in it. This youth is necessary to help pass on the baton of what the ancestorial generations have done and take the country ahead. I say this because children have a duty of carrying forward the cultures they have learned from their parents and, in a more economic sense, they will become the working, i.e the earning class as the older population retires. Without children, a country will slowly decline both in terms of its economy and its culture. For example, on a more grassroots level, a well known yet local clothing shop that has been open in my community since before I was born is still doing wonders because it is a family-owned business, which means, the family is encouraged and motivated to work there and expand their family name. This is in contrast to a small stationery shop, that is heading towards its downfall because the owner does not have children of his own and now there is no one to look after the shop as he retires due to his declining health. This clearly shines light upon why having children is fundamental.

Another way to look at this is that there is no better time to be a child than now. The sheer amount of recreational activities available for families to participate in together are shocking! Enjoying together and bonding would help families live happier, more peaceful life. That being said, the quality of education is on a steady incline and children now have umpteen options to choose from when it comes to their future. This vast variety will help a country develop more holistically and definitely expand what a country can do as a whole. Back in the olden days for example, in my country, the youth was limited to three career options to choose from as opposed to now where I see my school friends pursuing professions miles apart from mine, ranging from film making, medicine, computer sciences, and many more. Each one of us will contribute in some form or the other to our country and hence being a child in this century is very important.

To conclude, I disagree with the topic stating the having children is less important and my reasons for the reasons mentioned above. To be a child now would be to be one with the future.