Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment and not enough time on more serious duties and obligations Use details and examples to support your answer

In recent years, people spend a lot of time working, as soon as they can and it is imperative that they take some much deserved time out for themselves which leads me to disagree with the topic. My two reasons for the same are explained below.

Firstly, a large number of individuals spend the majority of their day working, where some of them are not paid proportionately for the amount of work they do. If they continue working for even longer hours while stressing themselves out in the process, it will lead to monotony in their lives and they will more likely end up burnt out by the end of the month. The typical 9 to 5 worker often ends up extending their work hours to meet deadlines but ends up hating what they do and living an unsatisfactory life. On the other hand, if someone takes some time out for the activities that they like to do, perhaps painting or gardening, they will feel rejuvenated. This will in turn motivate and push them to work smarter and more efficiently than before. My father, for example, usually takes out his Sundays to garden and focus on himself, to take some stress out that he has built up over the week interacting with various patients every day in a post-pandemic world. If he stopped doing so, he

would not have as much zeal as well as precision in his work.

Secondly, taking time out for personal enjoyment and spending that time on leisure activities is often very beneficial. People learn new skills that are definitely transferrable to their daily routine which will help them advance in their professional life while also receiving personal gains. For example, I have been a fond reader since school days and continue to read at least for 30 mins before bed. This habit of mine is surely helping me in my classes at university where I have to read and process large amounts of information, and at a higher than average reading speed too, in order to accurately answer questions and get good grades. This form of personal enjoyment gives me a break from my hectic schedule while allowing me to have a competitive edge over my peers.

To sum it up, I think people who spend time on themselves, are absolutely right in doing so. In a world where self-care is encouraged, more people should do things they like in addition to doing things they should. This not only allows you to reconnect with yourself on a more spiritual level but also allows you to pick up a few helpful skills along the way that will help you grow as an individual, both professionally and personally.