Imagination is more important than knowledge in the professional and the academic world Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to address the most

This topic is of great importance and raises the controversial issue of whether imagination surpasses knowledge in some professions and academic fields. Inarguably, imagination fuels innovation. Invention is a byproduct of an active imagination; would the lightbulb have been invented by Edison had he not been actively trying to imagine a way to create a way to give off light? Although this viewpoint does hold some merit in a few such academic fields, I generally disagree with the claim and strongly believe that the importance of knowledge must not be underestimated. My viewpoint is justified in below

First of all, proceeding with knowledge is not only important but of absolute necessity. When it comes to professions and academic fields when you are responsible for someone else’s life for example, in the medical field or the field of architecture- knowledge holds far more importance than imagination. When an architect is building a housing complex, they need to follow a set of rules and regulations that would make sure the building is safe to live in. They can only learn about these rules if they have studied about them in an academic setting. The Sydney Opera House is a marvelous monument designed while imagining a lotus but would it have been possible to make it so it can be utilised for its purpose had the architect responsible not have known how to construct a structure capable of supporting its own weight? possibly not. When a professional is knowledgeable and well informed about their profession and steps forth keeping knowledge in mind, countless lives are made better.

Second of all, knowledge can and needs to be passed on, whereas imagination is innate. Teachers are the first professionals to come to mind when knowledge is spoken about. Teachers and the entire academia have spent years perfecting their teaching methods and curriculums to teach students the subject from head to toe. They can successfully teach the workings of an engine to a group of engineers responsible for building an energy saving car but could they have done the same if they were to have asked them to just conjure up a design in their head and start building it with no knowledge of what part works how? An art teacher perhaps, can ask their students to use a specific technique to paint a picture using their imagination, but the genralisation of this phenomenon is unlikely.

Admittedly, a profession that is rooted in creativity and imagination, such as a musical composer or a chef for instance could possibly put up their best pieces of work when done so imaginatively. Sure they need to have knowledge of the field, but they dont have to follow a set of rules before designing something. A chef is not bound to try only a fixed combination. For example, a trend of savoury desserts is coming up with flavour combinations like bacon ice-cream, vinegar sorbets on the rise. Such combinations, albeit unusual, work for the critics and the customers and therefore the chef should consider that a job well done. Other than the technical part of cooking, imagination seeps into every crevice of a dish to make it stand out from the myriad.

In conclusion, although imagination might help some professions gain a fresh new insight, knowledge still holds power over the professions that heavily rely on years and years of perfection achieved by practise and continued learning. Imagination helps us innovate but knowledge helps us implement and so there definitely areas where both of them have amalgamated.