TPO 4 Independent TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than today Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I disagree with the statement exploring the topic that there will be fewer cars in use, 20 years down the line as compared to now. There is a wide variety of cars to choose from nowdays, with the differentiation starting as early as how the car's engine is configured, ie electric or oil going upto, but not limited till what colour the interiors will be; There is a plethora of options when it comes to buying cars and consumers explore all of these willingly. In a lot of countries, cars are often treated as a status symbol- the more the number of cars a family/person can afford to have, the wealthier they are, which while it may not always hold value, it subconsicously holds some truth, and guides a lot of consumers into buying more cars.

As the world population rises, more cars will be in use compared to now. Every family with two earning members at least utilise two cars at least to travel back and forth and this usage will only continue to rise as the population booms. Even with the population growth being curbed, as the economy boosts and more jobs are provided for individuals, they will use more transportation to head to said job, increasing the use of cars. Not only this but also as percentage of population using public transportation rises, it often leads to a high wait time resulting in dissatisfaction among someone who is too tired to wait after a day's worth of hardwork. They would much rather opt for a transportation that allows them to reach their destination quicker (supported by a development of wider and better roads and highways tackling the traffic problem in most metro cities)

Tesla is one of the most popular makers of electric cars and now more and more Teslas are sought after by the Millennial and "GenZ" generation who want to opt for a greener, environment friendlier alternative. The increase in demand of such cars that limit pollution, something most advertised as a proponent of why public transportation such as buses and trains (often powered by non-renewable sources) should be used, will definitely lead to an increase in the number of cars in use as compared to now. Mercedes Benz, a popular luxury car company, came out with an advertisement that showcased the power of the head lamps in their cars by placing them against a cow and displaying its entire anatomy as if it was placed against an x-ray box. Such bold and innovative advertisements will excite consumers and encourage them to buy more of their cars thereby resulting in a rise in numbers of the cars on road.

Thus, I would like to say that a lot more cars will be in use twenty years later than they are today. As family's diverge into a more nuclear setting, their usage of cars to do something as basic as run errands will increase and therefore they will be motivated to buy more cars and use them.