Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, and not enough time on more serious duties and obligations.” Use details and examples to support your answer

When it comes to question whether people today spend too much on personal enjoyment and hobbies, everybody has its own perspective depends on his/her experiences, observations, etc. From my viewpoint, people today spend more time on leisure, and not enough time on more serious duties. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

The first reason that supports my perspective is concerned with the fact that today's incomes of people increases, so people have more money to spend on enjoyment. In fact, with development in technology, the salaries of people are more than the past, and on the other hand, equipment for entertainment is more than in the past. Therefore people have many opportunities to enjoy time and life. A relevant study which was conducted in France indicates that people who live in Paris have more time for leisure and spend more time than the past for personal hobbies. Because of the incomes of people who live in Paris 40 percent increase relative to the past.

Another noteworthy point to be mentioned is that nowadays people have more free time than in the past. Indeed, many jobs and careers are limited time in hours and limited in works days. My own experience is a compelling example of what I mean. I work for a large investment banking firm where my scheduled workday for nine o’clock to two o’clock, I actually work 5 hours per day for five days a week. So, I have a lot of time every week for hobbies. I Spend time every afternoon in the gym and every weekend I have a travel program.

In conclusion, I believe that people today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, and not enough time on more serious duties and obligations. This is because today incomes of people increases, and because they have more free time than the past.