Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

It goes without saying that in this competitive world where we live, children are overwhelmed with different concerns to be prosperous in their future jobs. In this regard, while some people believe that children should choose to follow their parent's jobs, others hold the opposite view. I, personally, concur with the former group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, today, children have more options to choose one of them as their jobs. To clarify, in the past, there were a few jobs so that people had to choose among them; therefore, parents had to make a choice one of the limited options even if they did not like it. So, they often followed their parent's work. However, now thanks to the development of technology and increasing people's need, many works are available for children to take among them. Then, kids have more job opportunities, and their options do not be limited to a few tasks. For example, my father tells me about his childhood. He did not like farming, which was my grandfather's job. So he looked for any job in which he could be prosperous in their village, but he could not found it and had to choose his father's work as a job. On the other hand, I am an accountant because the world faces new needs, and accountancy is one of them.

Secondly, by taking a different job from parent's one, parents cannot intervene in ways in which their kids do work. To clarify, parents always want to help their kids by telling their own experience as, but sometimes this kind of behavior can bother their children. Most of the kids want to deal with their own problems by themselves and do not want their parent's advice. They want to experience everything, especially something related to their work, by themselves. Therefore, taking different works with their parent's ones can prevent parent's interferences.

In conclusion, taking two reasons mentioned above into account, I do believe that it would be better for children to do different work in comparison with the parent's job. This is because not only they have more options to take one of them as a job, but also taking different jobs prevents parents from intervening in their children's work manner.(36 min)