Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

To begin with, these days people have to work half of the day and have a limited amount of time to spend with their extended families. Now in this competitive world, life’s expenditure is increasing; therefore, people have to work much more time that of in the past. After work-hours, they are struggling with home tasks and their children’s issues. However, in the past, people had a lot of free time to could have spent with their extended family because their lifestyle was too easier than now and they did not face a variety of problems, for example helping their children to do their homework.

Secondly, today residential regions are expanding, and often people live far away from extended families; then, they meet their extended family sporadically. There are many reasons why people have to migrate and live away from their family, such as abroad education, job, to name but a few. However, in the past, all of the family almost lived near together and had more chances to met each other at will. For example, my grandfather recounts how his family lived with his extended family in one house, when he was young. All of the men of the family worked together on their farmland, and when their work was accomplished, they went back to their house, and the whole family ate dinner together. However, today each person of a family has a different job and do not live with each other. Then, they have fewer chances to meet each other less than in the past.