Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

The way of living is changing constantly and the advent of technology has transformed it in many ways so that human beings in different ranges of age have been affected by that. It appears giving more attention to the consequences of this factor on children’s creativity is a vital matter. In this regard, some people believe the growth of technology has had a positive effect on creativity. Meanwhile, others think children have been more creative before technological improvement. Personally speaking, I consider technology as an inhibitor of fostering creative characteristics in children and state my reasons for this view in the following paragraphs.

First of all, children are frequently learning creativity by playing and unfortunately, the majority of plays stifle this characteristic in children. Nowadays, plays are designed based on technology and anything related to game stages is already defined so that prevent children from free-thinking. Indeed, they do not have any power of decision and must pass the stages one by one until the final phase. Literally, they repeat one defined process without having any power of relocation. In contrast, in the past, they played outside with their friends. In this way, they were able to identify the form of playing. Obviously, kids determined the type of game and the rules related that by themselves. For example, mud play was one of the favorable plays in the past, before the development of technology. That offered endless opportunities for creative expression, including mud sculpture, mud picture and designs and also mud body painting. Certainly, children in the past were more creative than the technological' world of today.

Besides, the educational system is another influential factor in levels of creativity in children, affected adversely by technology. The quality of creativity in children is relied on how well they educated by schools. Before, children were more involved in writing essays and poems. Also, they practiced handwriting more than today. As the availability of training resources was less than these days, pupils were trying to solve problems by themselves, while nowadays, the internet and other facilities based on technology provide teachers and students with different resources about their lessons. Furthermore, children now are writing by means of software and employing a variety of software for paining instead of paper and pencil. By and large, decreasing creative intellectual stimulations has resulted in a considerable decline in children’s ability to use their imagination to produce new ideas, make things, and so forth. As a result, previously, in the world of a low level of technology, children were allowed to develop their creativity better than in recent years.

In conclusion, in the past, the creativity trait was more powerful in children than today because two main agents, including playing tools and education methods, were the most appropriate stimulators for developing this property.