If you want to recommend a way to reduce living expenses for your friend, which of the following will you choose? Why?

1. Find a roommate to share a room

2. Do not buy the latest mobile phone, buy new technological devices less frequently

3. Buy cheap foods and cook home (do not often eat outside)

It is most commonly accepted that individuals try to reduce their living costs by employing different ways. Therefore, some people may hold the view that the best way is to find a roommate to share a room. However, others may suggest buying cheap foods and cook home. From my perspective, it is more reasonable to share a room with someone, and I will develop my viewpoint in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, sharing a room with someone can help to reduce the expenses since roommates can share most of the living costs with each other. Admittedly, people who live alone are under a lot of economics pressure because of the costs of food and bills. In fact, the presence of a roommate can reduce most of the mentioned costs. To be more specific, when we share a room with a roommate, we make the opportunity to buy cooking stuff and pay the bills together. Therefore, individuals would stand less economics pressure. As a personal example, I used to live alone when I was studying at college. I could not cook home three days a week because of the classes and lectures. So, I had to eat outside which cost me a lot. Fortunately, I found someone to share my room with. Since then we bought cooking stuff together and shared the costs with each other which helped us to save a lot of money.

Alongside the first reason elaborated above, people can reduce living costs by finding a roommate because people will not feel alone anymore. It is obvious that people who live lonely try to entertain themselves and avoid being solitary by going to theaters, clubs, and different parties which cost them a lot of money. Therefore, living with a roommate will help individuals to spend most of their free time and fill their lonely time with roommates. For instance, while I was studying at the college that I mentioned in the previous paragraph, I used to go to theaters or going to some fancy parties every weekend which made me waste a huge amount of money. But after finding a roommate, I was not lonely anymore, and we watched movies together at home. Besides, we had a lot in common to talk and discuss about that I did not go to those fancy parties because I was enjoying to be with my roommate.

In conclusion, by taking into accounts all the above reasons, sharing a room with a roommate helps us reduce our expenses. Because not only people share their living costs with their roommates but also they do not need to go to the parties or go to theaters most often to fill their lonely hours.