Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? High schools should allow students to study the courses that students want to study. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

When it comes to the issue the importance of elective courses, some people believe that these kinds of course have many advantages for students. However, others have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the former point carries more weight. I take this position on account for the following reasons.

To illustrate my opinion, let us to take a look on why some people dislike the idea of the optional course. As we all know, the main obligation of schools is that to give essential knowledge in all academic areas to students, while this idea disrupt this process. Indeed, if students can select their courses, most of them never pick up basic courses like mathematics, reading, or even literature, because these kinds of courses are difficult or they are not attractive. In this way, students never can acquire important knowledge. Nevertheless, I think that we can allocate some of courses, which are not fundamental, as elective.

Although I admit that it is not necessarily to be elective all courses, I strongly believe that advantages of optional courses are apparent. The most important reason is that this kinds of courses increase students’ efficiency. In fact, the student has authority to choose his favorite course, so he his more enthusiasm for studies them. He does not feel tired during the class and catch what teachers say. In addition, he surely spends much time for study and makes more effort for getting high grades. All in all, the students will have high performance in learning and can more learn.

A further point we must consider is that students can better improve their talent. It is quite normal that every student has a talent in some areas, so with learning many courses we not only do not help them but also waste much time of them. I think that a small example can give some light to this matter. Imagine a student who has a brilliant talent in the math, while he have to divided his time between many different courses. Hence, he never can acquire striking achievements in the mathematics, because he had not enough time for study it. However, we can solve this problem by giving authority to them for selecting courses.

All above evidence supports this undeniable fact that optional courses increase students’ performance, help them being more successful. Admittedly, as an English proverb goes “a coin has two sides”; therefore, those who take the opposite view are partly reasonable that it is possible students do not gain essential knowledge. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that its benefits outweigh dangerous.