Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Human activity is making the earth a worse place to live. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny the fact that with the quick development of modern technology our society had changed the way of living and interacting. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely agree with the fact that our actions have a detrimental impact on our ever-day lives. It is my belief that our place to live has worsened because of our industrial achievements for a number of reasons and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, I strongly believe that the quality of our life is threatened by our behavior because, statistically talking we can see how polluted and dirty has become our environment. The level of green gas emissions had considerably increased with the development of factories and commercial companies. Moreover, with the increased number of robots and electrical machines, globalization extended even more and as a result, this had worsened the life conditions on our planet and caused a large spectrum of health problems. I have to admit that my own opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own experience. Fifty years ago, my mother`s friend, Lucy who was born in Ukraine had the bad luck to assist to the catastrophic nuclear accident that happened in Chelyabinsk. Consequently, the next day after the horrible event she was evacuated into another city, losing all of her personal things. In fact, this was nothing compared to the long run effects that occurred later on in her life: after five years she was diagnosed with a terrible disease that could not allow her to have kids. This had severely impacted her existence and since then she is extremely sad and has no happiness in her life. For this reason, I can strongly conclude that our actions have an awful impact on our lives, because right now Lucy has to deal with the consequences of what happened long ago in history and which was caused by our actions.

Secondly, we as society, contributed to the development of internet and this made us to become extremely lonely people. Moreover, these days we prefer to relax alone and entertain ourself by watching movies which has also negative effects on our communication skills. Furthermore, our relationships with our family and close friends had worsened since the introduction of mass media applications such as Instagram or Facebook. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. Two years ago, me and my best friend got into a fight because of lack of communication about a polemic subject that we discussed using WhatsApp. As a result, we had not been talking to each other during six months and consequently we got depressed and sad. Had we talked about this controversial social issue in real life, explaining our emotions by gestures and mimics we would not have been emotionally exhausted and we would have been even more united.

It is certainly clear to see that our actions have fewer positive effects on our lives because we had become less social and our environment had to suffer terrible consequences.