Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? My lifestyle is easier and more comfortable than the one my grandparents experienced when they were young. Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

Many people are nostalgic for the way life was lived in the past because they think that in those days life was more enjoyable. Personally, however, I believe that life has never been as easy as it is right now. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

​First of all, people today work fewer hours than they did when my grandparents were very young. This increases both our leisure time and our overall happiness. Today, almost all workers enjoy time off on the weekend and, usually, work no more than thirty-six hours per week. This means that people today are able to easily pursue whatever hobbies and interests make them happy. I feel that my own family’s history is a good example of this contrast. Many years ago, when my grandparents began their careers, they worked six days per week for a total of about fifty hours. In contrast, I work just five days a week and still receive a full-time salary. My light workload means that I have time for the sorts of hobbies that my grandparents were only able to take up following their retirement. This makes my life extremely comfortable.

​Secondly, advanced home appliances are ubiquitous in the modern era, which makes it easier for people to enjoy fulfilling and interesting daily lives. When my grandparents were young, their kitchen was equipped with no more than a simple stove. Today, in contrast, our kitchens contain a wide range of appliances, including microwaves, toaster ovens, blenders, mixers, and so on. For instance, my own kitchen contains all of these tools. I use them to quickly prepare interesting new foods every night using recipes from countries all over the world. I feel that having culinary adventures increases my well being and overall state of mind. My grandparents ate nutritious and delicious food, but it was really time-consuming and arduous for them to prepare meals because they lacked modern appliances.

​In conclusion, I am of the opinion that I enjoy a much more comfortable and easier life than my grandparents did when they were young. This is because I work fewer hours, and because I have access to a range of modern devices which make meal preparation easier than ever before.