Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a large city. Use specific reasons and examples to develop your essay.

It is critically for our society to contribute to the development and wellbeing of the young people regardless the place they come from. In my opinion, a large city can provide children with a better environment and opportunities. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, having access to a developed city infrastructure, museums, schools and theater can contribute to the personal growth of each individual. In addition, being surrounded by people with similar mindset, that mainly focuses on their education is a powerful tool in order to achieve great results later on in life. Moreover, a big city has to offer a lot of entertainment and access to sport clubs where children can develop their skills and aptitudes. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. Ten years ago, my mother decided to show me the place where she grew up, because she fought, I will be very happy to experience the lifestyle in countryside. Contrary to her expectations, I started to feel very sad because it was the first time when I realized how boring it can be without access to modern technology. In fact, I had no friends there and the only thing I could do was to relax in the garden all the day long and read old books. I missed very much my friends, my drawing classes and my volleyball team. Based on this experience I acknowledged how lucky I was to be able to live in a big city with a lot of movement and interesting events.

Secondly, in a big city, children are more likely to have access to qualitative education which is very important for a developed community. Consequently, in a small village usually there is no competition because of the reduced number of people. Furthermore, in rural areas children tend to get in touch with people of the same culture, whereas in major cities the concept of globalization and cultural exchange is more popular. For instance, my cousin grew up in a very small city and she barely could attend her classes at school because of lack of public transport. It was very hard for her to wake up every day, very early in the morning to catch the school bus that arrived at her station only twice a day. We are the same age and we were supposed to study the same basic things at school, but her level of English was way behind from mine. As a result, she could not apply for one-year scholarship to study abroad in England at her dream university. This example demonstrates how important is to be able to get valuable education In order to succeed in life.

In conclusion I am of the opinion that it is better for children to live in a big and modern city than in a poor and rural area. This is because in this way they can have access to a variety of academic and cultural facilities and because they have diverse and cosmopolitan populations.