Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Human activity is making the earth a worse place to live. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of technology, people have taken lots of advantages of the earth. Personally, I believe that human activities have already caused huge damage to the earth. I feel this way for some reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, after the industrial revolution, more factories were built, and more harmful substances were produced. The environment is becoming worse because of industrialization. Consider soil acidification, for instance. The carbon oxide from factories is the main reason for causing acid rain. Additionally, acid rain makes soil become acid, and acid soil is not conducive to agriculture. As a result, the types of crops that can be cultivated in those areas are restricted. The farmer cannot provide as much food as they could, and it may lead to a food shortage. Therefore, I think that the condition of the earth today is not as ideal as we have in the past.

Moreover, although people advocate doing recycle these days, this way is to treat the symptom but not root the cause. In addition, people do not actually do garbage disposal well. The garbage made by seven billion people is not only harmful to the ocean, marine creatures but also humans. For example, people use lots of plastic products, and plastic is the material, which is hardest to decompose. People usually put this kind of trash underground where nearby the coast. Most of them would flow into the ocean. Some fish ate the plastic particle since it is difficult to be broken down. By the food chain, humans would eat those plastics which are harmful to human body, and the plastics may stay in their body. If people had concerned about the issue of the environment more, the earth would not have been destroyed so quickly. Thus, I think that the food we eat nowadays is not as clean or healthy as it used to be.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that people overuse the resources on the earth, so the situation of this planet becomes worse. This is because of the chemical substances that are emitted from the industrial factories, and negligence on sustainable use of resources.