Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that education has been one of the important aspects of every society. In this regard, improving the quality of education is of paramount importance. There has been no shortage of debates among scholars on whether it is more beneficial to spend more money on salaries for professors or invest money in other areas. As for this writer’s opinion, I will subscribe to the latter idea. In what follows, I will elaborate on the most crucial reasons to substantiate my perspective.

The first reason is that equipment is more necessary for the quality of education. It is crystal clear that students often learn academic courses without practical examinations. They need to see the results of academic knowledge in equipped laboratories. By way of illustration, when I was a computer science student at the university, the professor learned us how to program with C language by showing lectures. unfortunately, the university did not provide a computer lab for us due to the lack of money. At the end of the semester, we learned the syntaxes and passed the exam but we could not program with computers in the real world. The more practical works students do at the university, the more successful person they will be in the future. Had the university not invested money in professors’ salaries it would have provided us a computer lab for students in order to improve the quality of education. This example clearly illustrates that the investment in salary for professors may interfere with the quality of education.

Furthermore, a high salary may have bad effects on professors. It is noteworthy that some professors who receive a high salary do not teach very well because they are convenient for their salaries. As a case in point, I had a mathematics professor who was very famous for his researches and papers. He took a high salary from the university for teaching us; but not only could he not teach us very well but also he did not answer students’ questions. He just thought for money and he did not care about the students’ education. As a result, I have a lot of troubles with math and I failed the math exam. Although he received a high salary all students were dissatisfaction about his teaching. This example clears that high salary always does not result in the high quality of education.

To put it briefly, as I mentioned above, one can infer that spending more salaries for professors may interfere with the quality of education. There is a couple of points which are worth to restating: firstly, the university can provide equipment for students instead of invest in salary for professors; secondly, high salary may cause professors do not perform their tasks perfectly. As this writer’s advice, I highly urge universities to invest their money in other crucial areas.