Do you agree or disagree with the statement that governments should spend more money to improve internet access not on public transportation?

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that people have been dealing with a lot of drawbacks in this sophisticated era. In this regard, the governments try to make this era a better place to live by investment in different areas. A hot debate raises here that the governments should spend money to improve Internet access or they should care more about improving public transportation. As for this writer’s opinion, I subscribe to the latter idea. In what follows, I will elaborate on the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason is that public transportation would diminish the air pollution. It is crystal clear that air pollution is one of the most crucial elements in every society and everyone aims to contribute to finding a solution to this problem. It goes without saying that the more public transportation people use for reaching their destinations, the fewer fossil fuels personal cars would release into the air. By way of illustration, one of my friends has lived in a city in London where there is a modern and expand public transportation exists and most people use it instead of their personal cars for their daily works; as a result, the weather is pure and clean there and a few people suffer from diseases are caused by low air quality. However, I live in Tehran, capital of Iran, where most people prefer their personal cars to public transportations and suffer from air pollution every session of the year. Had I lived in that city in London I would not have suffered from lung’s problem. As this example illustrates, improving public transportation would benefits people more than advancement in another era.

Furthermore, improving public transportation make the access of people easy, especially tourists. In other words, advance public transportation increases the prestige of the society. It is noteworthy that when people travel to a new country, it is important for them to feel convenient in that place and everything is readily accessible to them. Not only does advanced public transportation convenience tourists but also it would bring a lot of benefits to the government, in turn. As a way of illustration, I have traveled to that city in London my friend lives there, and I could visit all places and restaurants by advance buses which were created by the government for tourists and all people use these buses instead of hiring low price cars. As a result, I really fell in love with that city and I could flow some money in that city by paying bus tickets. This example clears how much important public transportation can be for a society.

To put it briefly, as I mentioned above, one can infer that investment in public transportation is vital for people’s lives and brings a lot of prestige in the tourists’ eyes when they travel there for the first time and brings back money to the government. As for this writer’s advice, I highly urge governments to invest more and more in public transportation and encourage people to use them instead o their personal cars.