Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

It might seem logical, at the first glance, to agree with the advertising director to allocate a big share of the budget to reach the public through advertising because fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies last year. However, the author relies on what might be less credible or even unproven assumptions which I will distinguish them below.

Firstly, the argument states that the percentage of positive reviews about specific movies increased, but the author does not mention the percentage clearly. Perhaps, the percentage increased about only 1% that would not be much considerable. There is other assumption that people may like specific characters and they vote to them. Also, the marketing department does not report about the number of people and the kind of movies they analyze.

Secondly, what stated in the argument is that the problem with the low attention is not due to the low quality of the movies. It does not the perfect result the director can get from the voters because people who love cinema and watching movies a lot always are aware of the latest technology. The company may pay attention to the quality of the movie and after that, if the people 's attention does not change we can accept this reason may be plausible.

Finally, the writer does not mention anything about the cost of this kind of movies during the past year. Perhaps the cost increased last year and people prefer to watch the movies in regular quality and they just vote to their favorite movies on the website. There is no rational relationship between voting to the movies and the quality of the screen and the movies people watch.

In order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence before accepting or refusing it completely. In order to improve the argument as a whole, the company can take a survey from viewers and consider all factors in the survey and show a clear result of it. After all, we can reach a better perspective and the manager can make the best decision.

To put it briefly, despite the argument suffers from several problems we cannot absolutely rely on it or reject it without perusing additional assumptions. The author can strengthen his or her assertion by changing states referred to the mentioned solutions. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.