Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents job Use specific reasons and examples to support your answ

A person’s profession should depend on their own willingness to pursue a path, not their parents’. At the end of the day, it would be best to choose a job that is desirable to you. However, if it happens to be that, your career choice aligns with your parents’ career, there would be benefits. So, I agree that it would be good for a child to go through a similar path as his/her parents, because following the footsteps of your parents offers you an abundance of benefits. However, it is important that your choice is not based solely on that aspect.

Experience is a major facet of a good worker that can only be acquired with time and participation. Since your parents have gone through working in the specific job, they can share the knowledge they have gained and elucidate you on things that can only be learned from people who have gone through working in the specific job. These things are priceless and could be of great use. With the knowledge you have acquired, you would have better control over situations you encounter in the job as your parents may have prepared you for the several outcomes they have encountered in the past.

Another reason is the inheritance. If for instance, your family owned a business and you choose to follow in their footsteps, the occupation can be passed down onto you. You would continue the legacy of your own blood which some families hold very dearly to their heart. This comes with several advantages too, such as, not having to start over. If the business is already up and running, you do not have to go through the hassle of starting from scratch.

In conclusion, there are immense benefits to having the same occupation as your parents, such as the knowledge and legacy being passed onto you, but it would only benefit you if it is what you want to do, because at the end of the day, it is your life and what you will be doing for the rest of your years. I believe your choice should not be based merely on this aspect.