Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a large city. Use specific reasons and examples to develop your essay.

The environment children grow up in is extremely important since it is related to their development of personality and body development. Personally, I believe that it is better for children to grow up in the countryside. I feel this way for some reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, to concern children’s health, parents should raise their children in the countryside. There is a study showing that the amount of people having allergies who grew up in a city is higher than the number of people who grow up in the countryside due to air pollution. Further, living in rural areas not only benefit physical health but mental health. My childhood experience is a compelling illustration. When I was in elementary school, I always visited my grandparents on the weekend. My grandparents’ house was located in a small village, and I was fascinated by the surroundings and the view because of the spacious grass and fresh air. I felt peaceful when I was there, and I only could hear the sounds from birds and insects. In contrast, when I came back to my city, the lifestyle I experience was another story. It was crowded and noisy, and everything in the city made me feel depressed. Thus, I feel that children growing up in the countryside may have a better health status.

Moreover, there is more space for kids to do activities and develop their characteristics in the countryside. Besides this, children living in rural places have more chances to explore nature. Consider two of my nephews, for instance. The one living in a big city usually plays video games and learns piano in his leisure time. On the other hand, another nephew usually rides a bike around the farms and has an adventure in the forest. He likes to capture different insects, such as beetles, butterflies, and crickets. He is always curious about unknown creatures, and once he sees unfamiliar plants, he will try to find out the answers. Since he needs to find out the way when he gets lost in the forest, he is more independent than his other cousins. If he had learned that knowledge from textbooks, he would not have remembered them that well. Therefore, I think that exploring in nature is helpful to children’s personality development.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that parents should raise children in the countryside. This is because children can have a better environment for their health, and have more opportunities to evolve.