Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a large city Use specific reasons and examples to develop your essay

With ongoing rapid urbanization, a growing number of people begin to move to the city because of better infrastructure or employment opportunities. Some people claim that there are no drawbacks living in metropolitan areas, while others do not agree. From my perspective, some groups of people, especially children, are not suitable for living in the city in the long run.

Undeniably, whether it is education, medical care or technology, bigger cities always have everything. First of all, there are more high-quality schools in cities than in the countryside. Better education for children is vitally important because this gives each child more chances to get admitted to a desirable university to some extent. Second, cities are equipped with more reliable services and support for our daily life, such as hospitals. This means that children who have a relatively poor immune system can get an immediate and efficient treatment. Third, cities allow children easy access to cutting-edge items. This means that children can have a broader view of the world. However, this does not mean that children should grow up in metropolitan areas.

In fact, children can have some irreplaceable advantages to living in the countryside. To begin with, the natural environment provided by suburbs plays a crucial role in children’s physical and mental health. For instance, researchers at the University of Illinois discovered that the time children spend in the woods could be used to supplement treatment of ADD, which is an intractable disease among children. Moreover, because of air pollution and unhealthy lifestyle, many children are suffering from chronic diseases, such as asthma, diabetes and obesity. Once they get these diseases, it will be extremely difficult to cure, and will cost a lot of money. Therefore, in order to prevent children from suffering those diseases, a better option is to let children live in the countryside where they can enjoy a pollution-free environment and have enough room to do exercise. In addition, growing up in the countryside helps to foster children’s intelligence. For example, a study at the University of Kansas found that adolescents who backpacked for three days showed higher creativity and ability to think.

In conclusion, both of these two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that children should grow up in suburban areas. This is mainly due to the fact that the environment provided by the countryside is essential for children’s physical and mental health, and these surroundings are almost impossible to be replaced by cities.