Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people think it is better to have in-depth knowledge in one subject because it is more useful and time-saving as worrying that those who have a broad knowledge of many subjects are lack understanding of each subject. However, I strongly believe that it is much better to possess a wide range of knowledge in various fields for several reasons.

To begin with, a broad knowledge of many subjects can truly make you succeed because it creates an optimal condition to get a decent job. In our society, it has become extremely difficult for individuals to get a good job without a wide range of knowledge in many different academic areas. As there are thousands of rivals in the competitive job market, possessing various skillsets is tremendously required for one to succeed. By being equipped with knowledge in different parts of each academic subject, one can attain diverse experiences and qualifications for the work. For example, my sister, whose major is electrical engineering, used to participate in a literature club when she was in college. People around her advised her that the literature club might not be helpful for her future, but she kept engaging in that club until she was graduated because she was interested in writing and reading. However, at a job interview of the electrical engineering related company, the interviewer wanted to hire a person who is familiar with literature and poem since he thought comprehending reading materials can be helpful to apply technology in society. Consequently, she got a job, found that engaging in a broader field of study in university during the club activity helped her to get an excellent job.

On top of that, people need new experiences and stimuli to make themselves focus on their main tasks and improve their ability. By learning different subjects that people have not been exposed to, they can not only refresh themselves but also feel accomplishments. Let me tell you about what happens when people accept ideas from many academic subjects. If you are working at a lab experimenting with human behaviors, you may get sick and tired of observing people’s actions and of yourselves trying to analysis every behavior of random people unintentionally. Then, you need some distractions to forget about your job and enjoy your life even more than now. Finally, you start to take a lecture about bio-chemistry and you feel novelty. Thanks to studying another subject, you come up with the idea to attempt interdisciplinary studying, and your reputation will be striking in your academic field. Get yourself fulfilling with something else. It will become your valuable assets.

To sum up, I admit people who specialize in one particular subject can have deep knowledge and a profound understanding of that subject. However, they, sometimes, need to be taught a broad knowledge of another field to success and to improve themselves.