Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have lots of friends than to have just a few friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that true friends are undeniably valuable. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely agree that having just a small number of friends than having numerous friends for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in subsequent paragraphs.

First, having a large number of friends can be distracting. For example, my roommate in the university has a clique of friends and they are about seven in number. They enjoy doing things together, including moving about together. They could seat for hours discussing and cracking jokes. I find this very distracting as my roommate most times hardly have time for her studies and this contributed to her having an extra year in the university. A lot of friends are certainly a distraction because you will want to please everybody by doing what everybody wants despite the inconvenience on your part. Therefore, having one or two friends is better.

Secondly, it is easier to confide in one or two friends and you are sure your secrets are safe than confiding in a lot of friends. I personally experienced this with my roommate, who confided to her clique of friends about her past life but unknown to her, some of those friends shared her story with other people, and this made people look at her in a certain way. Keeping secrets is a lot hard with certain people, so the chances of having a leaked secret are higher when revealed to a lot of people than to just a few persons.

Finally, one can easily be influenced into doing wrong things with a lot of friends than with just a few friends. I remember when I was in junior high school, I had a lot of friends who almost convinced me into smoking and drink alcohol. They told me it was normal and that I should try it out. I informed my mum about it and she warned me to stay away from such friends. After then, I withdrew myself from the clique and I later became friends with just two people who have rather influenced me positively as we usually study and attend academic seminars together.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe, and without any modicum of equivocation that having a few friends is better than having numerous friends.