Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to live in one town or city all your life than to move from one place to another.

Throughout history, human beings changed the way they choose their habitats. For ages, people abandoned nomadic lifestyles and started to settle down in permanent locations. However, still many people believe in a new form of mobile lifestyle that suggests it is better to move from one place to another instead of having a permanent location. I firmly agree with this idea, and I prefer a non-stationary lifestyle over living in one town forever. Two elaborate reasons are discussed in the following to substantiate my viewpoint.

Firstly, my conviction is that living in different locations enables us to meet new people from different cultures. In other words, moving to new cities provides a valuable opportunity to get familiar with new characteristics and personalities. By having interaction within societies with unique conventions that are not the same as those in our home town, we gain new experiences. Moreover, being exposed to unfamiliar groups fosters our interpersonal skills, as we thrive on making new connections and consolidating our bonds with new individuals. Not only this effort extends our social circle, but also brings more enjoyment to our life. On the other hand, by being a perpetual resistance of a town, our life turns into a dull routine, since we miss a significant source of excitement resulting from unexpected events.

Secondly, I believe that changing cities helps us be more prosperous in our profession and life, because it enlarges our perspective. It is only when we step out of our comfort zone that we can grow mentally. The indisputable fact is that each new city brings fresh challenges which affect our mindset and alters how we perceive the world. Thus, it transforms our interpretation of the world around us, by making us aware of the matters we have been neglecting during our sedentary life. As a result, with a sharper mind, we catch valuable professional opportunities. As I graduated from university, I left all my connections and job options in a college town, and I moved to a new city that was bigger and had better working opportunities. I made a great effort to make new connections and apply for the latest job positions. Although it was hugely arduous for me to adapt to the environment at first, working in a larger company brings more prosperity for me in the long run. Had I not stepped out of my comfort zone, I would not be able to work in a famous corporation that guarantees my future success.

According to the reasons mentioned above, it can be concluded that moving from one city to another has some fruitful advantages for those people who are more willing to take risks and leave their comfort zone.