Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

By and large, societies have always been making rules and conventions in order to bring discipline and harmony to people's affairs in their daily lives. However, it goes without saying that teenagers are more inclined to disobey rules. They usually tend to find ways to make rounds over regulations. In this regard, some people believe that today, rules exposed to young people are too strict. I entirely disagree with this statement. In what follows, I will elaborate on two reasons to substantiate my perspective.

Firstly, I contend that in the bustling world we currently live in, parents have to work from dawn to dusk in order to be capable of satisfying the family's needs. Today, most developing countries are struggling with a financial crisis, or in developed countries, people are relentlessly working for long hours. As a result, parents spend less and less time with their families, and they can not have sufficient control over their teenagers. Regarding this fact, they have less time to define rules for their children and make them obey their values. Adding to that, schools put most of their effort into education and pay less attention to educating teenagers about morals. Consequently, it is evident that today younger people can behave more freely as long as they obey few rules that are considered as red lines. For example, when I was a student, there was not much strict rule in our school. We had only to obey those rules that were about our education. Our most important duty was to receive top grades.

Secondly, my conviction is that with immense technological and social advancements in today's hectic world, young people have more freedom than ever. It is not only because different gadgets and social platforms change the way people perceive the world around them, but these kinds of systems also enabled teenagers to have access to a wide range of information. This phenomenon has caused teenagers to be less obedient since they have less fear of supreme powers like the ones once people had in the past. To be more specific, one should compare modern teenagers with young people in the past. In the old days, teenagers were more concerned about the rules and values of their community. In fact, their rapport was restricted to few people around them. So, they found it necessary to obey rules and conventions in order to be accepted by those few people. Likewise, to receive affection and support from their family or relatives, they had to obey strict rules. Compared to that, today, teenagers have a broader point of view about various matters, and they show less respect to rules since nowadays societies accept freedom as one of the most significant values of human cultures.

According to the reasons mentioned above, it is a foregone conclusion that today societies have reduced their roles and young people do not have to follow too many strict conventions compared to the past. This, in part, results from radical shifts in modern societies and the limitations that this lifestyle has exposed to people's routines.