Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave?

By and large, entertainment has a prominent role in our daily life. When it comes to having a well-balanced lifestyle that brings satisfaction and prosperity to teenagers' lives, their activities during free time are as decisive as other parts like education. As a result, how young people should spend their time is a place of contention, where some people believe that watching television or movies have more negative effects on teenager behaviors than positive ones. I entirely agree with this statement. Two reasons are elaborately discussed in the following that helps the substantiation of my perspective.

For the first reason, my conviction is that some television programs and movies are not suitable for young people. In other words, youngsters are more sensitive to the contents they are exposed to because their personality is being shaped at these ages. As a result, they should be cautious about what they are watching on television since it may affect them hugely and determine a specific personality trait or belief they have. Moreover, parents usually have not enough observation over what their teenagers choose to see on television or in movie theaters. Although some television programs may have useful messages, the negative effects movies have on young people outweigh the positive ones.

Another equally important reason is that watching television or movies can turn into an addictive habit that influences adolescents’ mental and physical condition. As we know, watching television is a passive activity that affects both the mind and body. Consequently, it can be seen that today many children and even adults are obsessed with watching television for long hours. Instead of sitting in front of the television for long hours, young people can benefit from their leisure time with more beneficial activities like sports or spending time with their peers. Not only do these activities have long-lasting positive effects on children's behavior, but also help them to foster their mental and physical abilities. For instance, when I was a child, I barely watched tv, and I used to play football with my friends in my free time. In this way, most of the time, I felt happy and energetic. Moreover, it was only when I grew up that I came to the conclusion of how beneficial it was for me to watch less television or movies. Had I not had alternative hobbies, I would have harmed my body and soul by excessive watching of films and television.

According to the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that many teenagers may find watching television or movies tempting, so they should be aware of the adverse effects these kinds of hobbies have on them.