Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to spend your money on an object that will last a long time than it is to spend your money on an experience (such as a vacation, concert, etc.) that will last only a short time. Use speci

Spending money wisely is one of the most important skills of human being. How to use money effectively is always controversial and it depends much on each person’s decision. Although spending money on buying physical things or on experiencing a course, service, or travelling are both beneficial our lives, I believe most successful people prefer using their money for having experience in life than buying luxury objects. It is because experience benefits us in two main reasons.

First, money spent on experience can create memory which could last forever. It is essential to have a special time such as travelling or enjoying a concert for every individual. In addition, travelling can create good time which we can spare with our family members, friends, and lovers. For example, I had an incredibly memorable trip with my foreign friends when we were studying at graduate school. We went on a road trip discovering new places, eating together, and singing together. We knew each other better through the trip. Our relationship was tighter after the trip, which accelerates our teamwork in many courses of our graduate study. In addition, it is extremely difficult to gather all of us at the same time for a trip due to our available time for now after we all graduate. I am glad that I did not miss a chance. I have no regret when I spent money for the trip with them.

Second, experience helps us learn new things and skills which are meaningful and essential for our lives. In other words, experience generates benefit now and in the future. We can use money to register for a class or attend a conference which could expand our knowledge profoundly. These experience are valuable and would be very useful for us in the future. In a summer vacation during my study time at graduate school, I attended various courses on research methodology and modelling instead of buying shoes or expensive watches. I learned a lot from the courses and applied this information to my thesis, which made my graduate thesis becomes easier and more practical so that I got a high score for the thesis. Moreover, I had a chance to meet many friends who have the same interest. These friends turn to my customer and partner in business currently. I gain a lot from those courses in term of both knowledge and social network.

In sum, money should be spent on things and experience in a balanced way and a portion that is suitable for each of us. However, I prefer spending money on experience which generate a vast of benefits in the current time and in the future. We should all consider spending money more on experiencing things and leaning.