do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to take risks and explore new things when you are older than when you are young.

Taking risks and doing new things helps individuals to get rid of the monotony of life. People of different ages sometimes bother themselves by doing new activities. However, there is a controversy as to weather, it is better for elders than youngsters to take risks or not. I, personally, believe that older ones should avoid taking risks or doing new activities, for two main reasons that I will elaborate on which in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, taking risks or doing new activities deprive elders of having relief and calm which are the most important requirements in their lives. It is crystal clear that taking risks is a double-edges sword. Therefore, although people who do new things or experience risky activities are likely to achieve something, it is highly probable that they lose all their possessions in the blink of an eye. Therefore, thinking about the consequences puts a lot of stress and tension on old people that they cannot withstand. When they take risks or do some adventurous, their minds become totally busy and it is not good for their mental health. A personal example can derive this notion home. When my uncle was retired, he decided to hold a factory. When he was managing the affairs, he was under a lot of pressure. Then, soon after, he lost his mental balance. Had not my uncle done something new, he would have had his mental health and stood happy for the rest of life.

Second, some qualities such as active mind, creativity, and strength are prerequisite of being successful in new and risky activities. When people want to do something new they should collect an assortment of information, and they have to put an immense amount of energy and effort in order to do that. For example, if someone wants to attend a new job, before everything he should enhance his knowledge in that area. Obviously, older people’s minds do not have the productivity of youngsters, so they cannot make true decisions in critical moments. Moreover, people who want to take risks also need physical ability because they need to spend time on such activities. For example, if an old man decides to climb Everest, it would be an inappropriate choice for him because not only due to lack of creativity he might not read the map meticulously during the climbing, but it also is possible that he hurt himself seriously that it is not irreparable at these ages.

To sum it up, with taken two mentioned reasons into account, I do believe that old people should avoid taking risks because not only they need tranquillity at these ages, but also owing to the lack of mental and physical abilities they are less likely to be successful in such risky activities.