It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

In the progressive and sophisticated today's world, people are overwhelmed and inundated with diverse assortments of daily news. In this circumstance, people definitely will encounter the news that are good agreements with their points of view as long as the news that is different from their opinions and ideas. In this line of thought, some people believe it is better for them to follow the news closely to their viewpoints. Others, however, prefer to know about opposite views. I, for one, concur with the latter group for two conspicuous reasons that I will elaborate upon hereunder.

The first exquisite reason that comes to mind is that people need to know about opposite and different views to deal with some potential people who only track the news which is closed to their views, gradually will be narrow-minded because they do not have any other information. To elucidate on, knowing about other's ideas and thoughts, people can broaden their horizons and make new perspective. To put in another word, in our ever-changing world, people need to enhance their knowledge to be productive and reflective. For example, until a couple of years ago, I thought herbal medicine was a piece of junk. I totally denied its effectiveness, and I do not care about the news about its merits. However, when I accidentally read a piece of news about the effect of a kind of herbal remedy on cancer published by Harvard University, I changed my mind and after that followed the news about such cures.

Second, it goes without saying that in the modern era all events and happenings in a country profoundly affect the life of the whole society. To be more specific, people who only watch the news that they like, miss any important information that may influence their life situation. Although in many cases it is not favorable to watch the news distinct from our thoughts, watching them, we can take advantage of the potential opportunities that have been existed. To make it more vivid, there is a TV channel in my country that broadcasts the news totally different from my opinions. However, watching the news on this channel, I gain a better understanding of the financial problems of my country and could invest my money in a profitable way. Although this channel is a proponent of some politics that I do not admire, I can take advantage of its prediction about economic and make more money.

In conclusion, having the two mentioned reasons into account, I do believe that people should follow all of the news, no matter they are closed to their viewpoints or not. In this way, not only can they broaden their mind and stay open-minded, but they also can take advantage of every potential chance and benefit from that.