Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday rather than when they do similar tasks all day long.

In our sophisticated world, jobs play a vital role in people’s life. Therefore, there always had been some controversial questions about the best conditions of working that provides workers with higher productivity as well as a deep sense of satisfaction. One question which arises in this regard is that it is better for workers to do a singular job for whole the day or they should do different types of tasks. I, for one, think that workers should do various kinds of tasks during a workday, and I will elaborate on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, in the modern era, people spend a large amount of time of their life in the workplace that means their happiness and their satisfaction is profoundly dependent on their jobs. Many psychologically studies have shown that human beings try to get rid of the monotony of life in various aspects of life. Individuals tend to wear various clothes, socializing with a variety of people, eating different kinds of foods and so forth. Therefore, when it comes to doing jobs, people definitely prefer to avoid being exhausted and bored by doing a single job for the whole that day. The more sense of satisfaction provided by the job, the more productivity the workers have. A personal example can drive this notion home. I am a processing engineer and everyday work with many workers. Some workers who do the same job during the day are not energetic and efficient as much as the workers who do various types of tasks.

The other important point is that these days every society encounters an economic crisis, and it is very important for workers to broaden their skills and abilities in order to reach job security. Nowadays, many companies cannot resist financial problems, and they have to fire their workers frequently. In such a circumstance, the ones who have learnt various tasks are less likely to lose their jobs. When a worker is fired, the company needs to train others the new skills in order to compensate the absence of previous workers, and it would cost a fortune. Hence, they prefer to preserve their skilled and well-experienced workers who are profitable. For example, the company where I am working, put more value on the workers who experience working with various machines rather than the workers who have learnt a single task because they know in harsh situation these multitasks workers are more handful.

All in all, taking the two mentioned reasons into account, I firmly assert that it is better for workers to do various tasks. In this way not only are they happier and productive at work but also they are less likely to be unemployed.