Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday rather than when they do similar tasks all day long.

By and large, working is one of the most important parts of everybody life. It is owing to the fact that people spend most of their time at work, so it is crucial for them to have a job which they like. In this line of thought, some people believe a job with a plethora of tasks is more satisfying than a job with routine and repetitive tasks. Personally speaking, I concur with the statement, and in the following lines, I will substantiate my point.

To begin with, a job with diverse tasks is more interesting for people than a simple job. Doing different tasks along a day lowers the exhaustion of the work, and let people continue their work more vibrant. It is an intrinsic feature of humankind that diversity brings about more energy and dynamic for them. Moreover, when people supposed to do a lot of different things, they need to communicate with different coworkers, which is more satisfying as people like to have a social relation during the workday. My experience is a case in point. When I worked at an investment company after my graduation, I used to do a single task that was really frustrating. After a while, I asked my supervisor to give more things to do and also more responsibilities. Not only did my eagerness toward the job have increased, but also I have done my tasks more efficiently. When I was tired of doing a task, I switched to another one, which helped me to keep my enthusiasm all day. If I had not changed my job situation, I might have resigned a long time ago.

The second reason is that complex work helps people to learn a variety of useful things. The more different tasks people do, the more skills and knowledge they learn. When employees have a lot of work to do, they eventually need to reach different skills and increase their understandings about the work. This feature not only enhances their motivation but also benefits them in the future as they were equipped with competitive abilities. Take, for instance, when a worker has gained a great skill set in a working area, he would have higher bargaining power, and he could get promotion very easily or find a job with better compensations as a result. Moreover, knowing a lot of things increases people creativity and also reinforce their interest to learn more, which lead people to feel more satisfied and pleased. Therefore, a job with regular functions could kill employees' motivation.

In summary, all the aforementioned reasons above bring us to the conclusion that a job having a different kind of duties is more enthusiastic than a job without any different roles. It is because the complex job is more interesting, and help workers to obtain different abilities.