Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

In sophisticated today’s world, choosing a career is an indispensable part of everybody’s life. All parents consider their children’s future and try to guide them to be successful. Some people think children should choose the same job as their parents. On the other hand, others stand on the other side of the continuum, believing that the children should choose their job independently. I, personally, subscribe to the latter group for a couple of reasons, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, psychologically speaking, passion and talent are the two most important factors in someone’s prosperity. Some people think that the ones who make fewer mistakes in their job are more successful. Therefore, they suggest that the children attend to their parents because in this way children can use parent’s experiences while they are underestimating the influence of willingness on the individual’s success. Parents should unearth the talents and interests of their children and encourage them to find their ways. Choosing careers without paying attention to personal desires have some demerit; All people pass a large part of their life at work. So, when they are reluctant about their vocation, it would be too tedious for them. Also, despite the possibility of making a mistake, those who are passionate about their job are more innovative and creative which brings about flourish and drive a great sense of satisfaction in their jobs.

Second, doing a similar job with parents can adversely affect the relation between family members. When parents are proficient in their business and have experienced up and down of their careers, they unconsciously tend to prevent their children from making a mistake. In this vein, children do not have a sense of freedom that causes demanding disputations between them which they did not use to have them before. Additionally, they may have some controversial discussions over the financial aspect of the job. Some parents think because of the intellectual and financial assistance that they offer their children, children owe them and they should compensate their parent’s favor in another way. A personal example can derive this notion home; because my cousin was working with his father in his company, his father expected that he not to leave home after his marriage to take care of him and it blemished their relation.

All in all, with all two mentioned reasons into account, I vehemently assert that children should choose their job independently. Because in this way not only do they have a chance to find the most appropriate job according to their talents and interests, but also they can have a smooth relation with their parents forever.